Florida Statute 741.01 in part, states that the Clerk of Circuit Court acts as an agent for the State of Florida for issuing Marriage Licenses. The Marriage License Department is here to answer your questions concerning Marriage License in Gulf County.
For advice to newly married, or those about to get married, we suggest you visit the Family Law section of the Florida Bar Website. This gives you some advice on the legal issues to be considered when getting married.
ATTENTION: Starting July 1, 2020, Because of the current COVID-19 pandemic, Face Covers (Masks) must be worn by the applicants. No Masks. No Services. No Exceptions.
Appointments are necessary to apply for a marriage license. Appointments must be made at least 24 hours in advance. If you are late for your scheduled appointment time, you will have to reschedule your appointment for another day. All appointment times are in the Eastern Time Zone. Please call the clerk’s office @ 850-229-6112 to make appointments.
You need to begin the application process by clicking on the AFFIDAVIT FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE. Print out two affidavits then each person must fill out an affidavit. Please bring the complete affidavits with you. NOTE: Use BLACK INK ONLY. You must still come into the Clerk’s office to complete the application process. Please do not sign the affidavit until you have reached the Clerk’s office.
Marriage License FAQs
What is needed to get a Marriage License?
Both parties must provide proof of the following:
- Identification in the form of a drivers license, state ID or passport.
- U.S. Citizens must provide their Social Security Number. Non citizens may provide a Social Security Number, or an Alien Registration Number issued by the Immigration and Naturalization Service.
- Proof of age. Both parties must be at least 18 years of age.
- An application form must be completed. If either party has been previously married, you must note on the application how and when the marriage ended (month/day/year).
- Pursuant to Florida Statutes the parties are required to read the Family Law Handbook (Spanish Version) before a license can be issued. Please click here to obtain Adobe Reader if you are unable to open the Handbook.
- The fee for the Marriage License is $86.00. This fee is reduced to $61.00 for Florida Residents who have completed a premarital preparation course as provided in Florida Statute 741.0305(5). The course must be by a provider listed with our office and the certificate of completion must be presented at the time of application. Gulf County Florida Premarital Course Provider List
Do both parties have to be present at the Clerk’s Office to apply for a license?
Yes. Both parties must sign the application form and take an oath to the truthfulness of the information provided.
Is a blood test required?
No. A blood test is no longer required in the State of Florida.
Is there a waiting period for the issuance of a Marriage License?
Yes, Florida Statute 741.04 (5) says the effective date shall be delayed 3 days from the date of application unless Florida Residents present the following:
- Certificate of completion of a premarital preparation course from a qualified course provider listed with our office. Gulf County Florida Premarital Course Provider List
- There is no waiting period for out of state residents.
How long is the Marriage License valid?
Florida Marriage Licenses are valid for 60 days from the date issued.
Must I apply for a Marriage License in the County where I live?
No. A Marriage License can be applied for and solemnized in any Florida County, however the license must be returned to the county of issuance for recording.
Who may perform Marriage Ceremonies?
- All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel, elders in communion with a church, or other ordained clergy.
- All Judicial Officers, including retired Judicial Officers and Notary Publics of this State.
- “Quakers” and “Friends” may perform marriages in the manner and form used and practiced in their societies.
Who is a regularly ordained minister?
A minister who has been recognized in the manner required by the regulations of the respective denomination to perform marriage ceremonies.
May I get married by a captain aboard a ship?
Yes. If the Captain is a Notary and the ship is in Florida Waters (within 3 geographic miles of the coastline) at the time of the ceremony.
May a marriage be solemnized without a license?
No. Florida Statute 741.08 states in part that the party solemnizing the marriage shall require a properly issued license before performing the ceremony, and within 10 days after the ceremony, he shall make a certificate thereof the license and shall transmit the same to the Clerk of the Circuit Court from which it was issued.
How long does it take to get a copy of the marriage record, and the costs?
You will receive 4 certified copies of the Marriage Certificate within 7 days after the officiator returns it to the Clerk’s Office to be recorded. There is no charge for these copies. Additional certified copies cost $4.50 each.
Can a person marry someone to whom they are related?
Florida law prohibits a person marrying anyone to whom they are related by lineal consanguinity. The nearest degree of relations who may legally marry in the State of Florida is first cousins.
Do one or both applicants have to be U.S. Citizens?
No. There is no citizenship or residency requirements.
What are the age restrictions for obtaining a marriage license?
Effective July 1, 2018, A license may not be issued to any person younger than 18 years of age, unless (a) the person is at least 17 years of age and provides the written consent of his or her parents or legal guardian, which is acknowledged by an officer authorized by law to take acknowledgments and administer oaths; and (b) the older party to the marriage is not more than 2 years older than the younger party to the marriage.
Can a minor, younger than 16 get a Marriage License?
Florida Statute 741.0405(4) states that no license to marry shall be granted to any person under the age of 16 years, with or without the consent of the parents, except as provided in Florida Statute 741.0405 (2) and (3).
For more information or to contact us, click here.