Civil Traffic / Infractions
The Traffic Department maintains all records pertaining to Traffic Citations issued to persons in Gulf County. We also collect all fines, provide a list of approved driving schools, and set court dates for those who wish to contest their infraction violation.
If you are charged with a criminal violation (D.U.I., driving with a suspended license, driving without a valid drivers license etc.), you must call the County Criminal Department (Misdemeanor) within 10 days of the citation by calling (850) 229-6112.
If you are charged with a civil infraction (careless driving, speeding etc.) you must elect one of the following three options within 30 days of the citation.
- Pay the fine
- Plead not guilty
- Elect to attend a driving school and pay a fine to avoid having points assessed – DHSMV’s List of statewide traffic schools.
Penalties for Failure to Complete Course and/or Pay Costs and Fees
Your Driver’s License will be suspended and points will be assessed. Before your license can be reinstated, YOU MUST: Pay the balance of the original fee, pay a $15 cancellation fee, pay a $18 late fee and pay a $67.50 reinstatement fee to the State of Florida (if applicable).
Frequently Asked Questions about Traffic Citations:
How much will my Traffic Citation cost and where do I pay?
It depends on what violation you were charged with and whether you pay it within the alloted 30 days after the date of the citation. If you pay after 30 days late fees will be assessed.
You can pay your citation in person at the Gulf County Clerks Office, 1000 Cecil G. Costin, Sr., Blvd., Port St. Joe, Florida, or at the Annex/Branch office located at 153 N 3rd Street Wewahitchka, Florida.
You can pay by mail by sending a cashiers check or money order to 1000 Cecil G. Costin, Sr., Blvd., Room 148, Port St. Joe, Florida 32456, Attn: Traffic Department.
You can pay on-line at www.myfloridacounty.com (click here) within 30 days of receiving your ticket using a credit card.
You can pay by phone by calling the MyFloridaCounty Traffic IVR at 1-(855)-984-1187.
How do I make arrangements to go to driving school to avoid points being assessed.
First, contact the Clerks Office at (850) 229-6112. You will have to sign an affidavit electing to attend a driving school, and pay the Clerks Office the associated costs for this option within 30 days of the date of the citation. If you hold a CDL license, you are not eligible for school election.
Next, contact a driving school of your choice that is approved by the State of Florida and complete the course within 90 days from the date of the citation. The schools will advise you of their associated costs for taking the approved driving program.
Finally, provide the Clerks Office with a copy of the Certificate of Completion that will be issued to you by the school. This option may only be used once in a 12 month period, and no more than 5 times in your lifetime. Failure to provide the Certificate within 90 days will result in your license being suspended.
IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS YOU MAY CALL
Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM Eastern time.
(850) 639-2175 Annex/Branch
Rebecca L. Norris, Clerk of the Circuit Court
1000 Cecil G. Costin, Sr., Blvd., Room 148
Port St. Joe, FL 32456
How do I set a court date?
If you are charged with an infraction, you may choose to appear in court to contest the violation. Please call the Traffic Department at (850) 229-6112, 639-5068 in Port St. Joe, or 639-2175 in Wewahitchka for instructions and forms.
Can I change my court date?
The Clerks office cannot reschedule an infraction court appearance date.
May I file an extension to pay my traffic infraction?
If you request an extension, you waive your right to attend traffic school or have a hearing.
You may obtain an additional 30 days to pay by coming in person to the Gulf County Clerks Office at 1000 Cecil G. Costin, Sr. Blvd., Port St. Joe, Florida. If you are unable to come in person, please call this office for additional instructions. There will be an additional $7.00 Affidavit fee due at the time of your request.
How do I obtain a copy of my driving record and points?
You may purchase a copy at the Clerks Office, 1000 Cecil G. Costin, Sr., Blvd., Port St. Joe, Florida. There is an associated cost.